Bio #2: Katherine Mary Elizabeth Riley

That's me with my fur baby, Leo.

That’s me with my fur baby, Leo.

What’s your name? I have one seriously long full name, so most folk go with Kate!

Where are you from? I hail from the Texas originally. Western Maryland has been home since I was about twelve.

Summer trip to the Lone Star State to line dance with my best friend!

Summer trip to the Lone Star State to line dance with my best friend!

What did you do before ESC? Frostburg State University housed me for my bachelors in Social Sciences, history and political science. I also worked at the most amazing coffee shop / bakery called Café Mark and Jennifer’s Desserts, and to top it off I kept up with our church’s youth group and all the diocesan events that were part of that.

katetaco

One shot of the weekly Taco Tuesdays after work, tacos!

What drew you to Episcopal Service Corps? I started talking with our Bishop about the discernment process. He felt that I was unsure about whether or not I was ready to jump into the process. At his recommendation I applied to a few of the ESCs across the nation, but Baltimore was perfect because I would be close to family, work with my mentor, and live in a great city.

That’s Jessica and I being the Queens of Halloween & Christmas!

That’s Jessica and I being the Queens of Halloween & Christmas!

Where are you working? In the BEST place ever! I am the assistant to the Canon for Youth Ministry at the Diocesan center. I work on retreats, funding, missions, and helping the youth of the diocese have a great time while they grow in their relationships with God and others.

Tell us a little bit about your hobbies and interests. I am a fangirl of oh so many things in this beautiful world. My obsessions include Batman, Penguins hockey, baking, movie collecting (I think I am in the range of 200), shopping, and cooking dinner with my homies. I really enjoy learning new things like sewing and painting.

I also enjoy good music! That is my boyfriend and I at a Coheed & Cambria concert.

I also enjoy good music! That is my boyfriend and I at a Coheed & Cambria concert.

What’s next? At the end of the year I am hoping to find a job while I pursue my discernment process. I would love to be the Youth Ministry person at either a parish or for the Diocese one day. I am slowly getting pumped to go back to school, but you never know what the good Lord has in store. As long as you do what you love, it can’t feel like work.

Where can we stalk you?  instagram, pinterest, and imgur!

Leave a comment